Archive for the ‘Uncategorized’ category

Local blog recognizes local cooks

December 18, 2008

It’s fun to see the reach of the Sesqui events. Just last week I noticed that Phyllis Erickson and Peggy Metz were recognized in their local Starbuck blog becuase they will have their recipes featured in a cookbook sponsored by the Sesquicentennial Commission.

The cookbook does make a great gift!

Oxcart Trail update

July 28, 2008

Orlin and his family are about 20 miles south of Motley along Highway 10.  They plan to leave tomorrow morning and they will try to make it to Little Falls close to 3 p.m.  Watch for more updates as they continue their journey along the Pembina Trail.

Minnesota Minute Online Video Contest – Now through September 1, 2008

July 9, 2008

The Bell Museum of Natural History is sponsoring an online video contest with great prizes as part of the Minnesota Sesquicentennial Celebration. Post a 1-5 minute video to YouTube and add the tag “MyMinnesotaMinute” to submit. The Bell Museum is especially looking for videos about people making a difference for the future of Minnesota’s natural environment.

Take a Minnesota Minute. Protect our natural world for tomorrow.

If you are able to post to websites or local cable education tv and you’d like to run a visual, the Bell Museum has posted a “how to” video and other clips for TV on YouTube.

AND, if you’re interested in the juncture between technology and the outdoors, create and post a Minnesota Minute video of your own!

June 5, 1959

June 5, 2008

Bob Dylan graduates Hibbing HS in Minnesota (Learn more)

June 3, 1967

June 3, 2008

William “Bill” Carlucci, rower and winner of 1996 Olympics bronze, is born in Minneapolis, Minnesota. (Learn more)

June 2, 2007

June 2, 2008

More than 200 people attended the ground-breaking ceremony for a $50 million expansion of Treasure Island Resort & Casino. (Learn more)

June 1, 1857

June 1, 2008

An election in Minnesota Territory to select Republican and Democratic delegates to a state constitutional convention was held on June 1, 1857. (Learn more)